SRC- Science Resource Center Volunteer Opportunity - Multiple dates- look for grade must attend training

Description

SRC VIPS Training Calendar 2019-2020

Demo training is at the SRC (11206 Telge Rd. 281-897-4004);

Adults only please.

September 12 - Pre-K/PPCD Opossums 9:30 - 11:30

   16 - 5th Grade Mammal Skulls 9:30 – 11:30

   19 - 5th Grade Bird Study Skins 9:30 - 11:30

   23 - 1st Grade Eggs and Nests 9:30 - 11:30

   27 - Kindergarten Guinea Pigs 9:30 - 11:30

October 2 - Pre-K/PPCD Opossums 9:30 – 11:30

   9 - 5th Grade Mammal Skulls 9:30 – 11:30

   17 - 1st Grade Eggs and Nests 9:30 – 11:30

   23 - 5th Grade Bird Study Skins 9:30 – 11:30

   25 - 4th Grade Galveston Bay Ecology 9:30 – 11:30

November 4 - 2nd Grade Snakes 9:30 – 11:30

   7 - Kindergarten Guinea Pigs 9:30 – 11:30

   14 - Pre-K/PPCD Animal Friends 9:30 – 11:30

   18 - 4th Grade Galveston Bay Ecology 9:30 – 11:30

   20 - 3rd Grade Arthropods 9:30 – 11:30

December 4 - 2nd Grade Snakes 9:30 – 11:30

   10- Kindergarten Hedgehogs 9:30 – 11:30

   12 - 1st Grade Small Mammals 9:30 – 11:30

   18 - Pre-K/PPCD Animal Friends 9:30 – 11:30

January 7 - 3rd Grade Arthropods 9:30 – 11:30

   9 – 4th Grade Aquatic Bird Study Skins 9:30 – 11:30

   17 - Kindergarten Hedgehogs 9:30 – 11:30

   21 – 2nd Grade Body Coverings 9:30 – 11:30

   24 - 1st Grade Small Mammals 9:30 – 11:30

   29 - 2nd Grade Insects 9:30 – 11:30

February 5 - 2nd Grade Body Coverings 9:30 – 11:30

   10 - 4th Grade Aquatic Bird Study Skins 9:30 – 11:30

   13 - 5th Grade CSI 9:30 – 11:30

   19 - 4th Grade Reptiles 9:30 – 11:30

   24 - 3rd Grade Amphibians 9:30 – 11:30

   28 - 2nd Insects 9:30 – 11:30

March 3 - 4th Grade Reptiles 9:30 – 11:30

   5 - 3rd Grade Amphibians 9:30 – 11:30

   18 - 6th Grade Ecosystems 9:30 – 11:30

   27 - 5th Grade CSI 9:30 – 11:30

 

Animal Odyssey Trainings (Kindergarten)

October 3, 2019 – VIPS * 9:30 – 11:30

   Teachers 4:30 – 6:30

January 16, 2020 - VIPS * 9:30 – 11:30

   Teachers 4:30 – 6:30

March 19, 2020 - VIPS * 9:30 – 11:30

   Teachers 4:30 – 6:30

 

* VIPS are not required to assist with this field trip; however, they may be trained to assist the teacher presenter by handling animals while the teacher speaks.

Training is only required for VIPS who desire to help by handling animals. Please RSVP with Denise Martin (denise.martin@cfisd.net) if you plan to attend animal handling training.

VIPS may also assist with crafts, time keeping, and movement of student groups and do not need to be trained in advance. VIPS may request an overview and general instructions for the crafts by contacting Denise Martin (denise.martin@cfisd.net).

Gulf Mysteries (First) and EcoAdventure (Second)

Teachers present the lessons at each of these field trips. VIPS may assist teachers with crafts, time keeping and movement of student groups.

No VIPS training is required. VIPS may request an overview and general instructions for these field trips by contacting Denise Martin (denise.martin@cfisd.net).

Nature Trails Trainings (Third and Fifth)

Nature Trails training is at Cy-Fair Nature Trails - 13500 Shaft Dr. Cypress, TX 77429--behind Millsap Elem.

Please do not bring small children and come dressed appropriately for walking in the woods.

3rd grade: 4 VIPS needed to assist teacher presenters

5th grade: 2-3 VIPS needed to present at stations, 2 VIPS needed as chaperones

September 26, 2019 – 3rd grade 10:00 – 11:30 - 5th grade 12:30 – 2:00

November 6, 2019 - 3rd grade 10:00 – 11:30 - 5th grade 12:30 – 2:00

January 22, 2020 - 3rd grade 10:00 – 11:30 - 5th grade 12:30 – 2:00

Date/Time(s)
Thursday, September 12, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Monday, September 16, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, September 19, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Monday, September 23, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, September 26, 2019 10:00am – 10:00am
Friday, September 27, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, October 17, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Friday, October 25, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Monday, November 4, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 10:00am – 10:00am
Thursday, November 7, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, November 14, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Monday, November 18, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, December 12, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, December 18, 2019 9:30am – 11:30am
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, January 9, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Monday, January 13, 2020 11:30am – Friday, January 17, 2020 9:30am
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 10:00am – 10:00am
Friday, January 24, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, January 29, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, February 5, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Monday, February 10, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, February 13, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Monday, February 24, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Friday, February 28, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Thursday, March 5, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Friday, March 13, 2020 11:30am – Wednesday, March 18, 2020 9:30am
Friday, March 27, 2020 9:30am – 11:30am
Calendar